About the Club - CYCSA

About the Club

Vision of the Cruising Yacht Club of South Australia
To provide the highest level of services to its Members.
To be prominent in all forms of yachting in South Australia including Racing, Cruising and Fishing.
To be committed to the promotion of yachting as a worthy contributor to the community lifestyle.

CYCSA's marina

Background & Overview
The Cruising Yacht Club of South Australia is one of Australia’s premier yacht clubs and caters for over 1200 members with a diverse range of sporting and social interests. Located on the Le Fevre Peninsula at North Haven, the Club was incorporated in 1973. Just 5 minutes from Semaphore, 10 minutes from increasingly thriving Port Adelaide, and 15 minutes from West Lakes, the CYCSA’s location is unreservedly convenient.

The Cruising Yacht Club of South Australia covers approximately 36 hectares, which includes water and land from the inner breakwater to the North Haven harbour through to Lady Gowrie Drive.

The Club is run on a day to day basis by a General Manager and staff who are appointed by the Board of Management. The Board, elected annually, controls the Club’s finances, staff and assets and establishes policies and guidelines for the GM. The Board appoints a President and Treasurer from within its own ranks.

The Senior Member afloat, the Commodore, is a non-voting Board Member who, along with the Vice and Rear Commodores, is appointed by invitation as a person of community standing to represent the Club in a variety of situations. 

There is a membership category to suit all. These include Senior Member, Club Member, Racing Member, Social Member, Intermediate Member and Youth Member. Only Senior Members are eligible to vote and own marina and hardstanding berths.

Unique in Australia, CYC(SA) MANAGEMENT PTY LTD owns the freehold of water and land areas. Senior members as unit holders in a unit trust, are able to be proprietors of their berths, which allows their asset to be bought, sold or leased at market values.

Currently  the CYCSA is a member of Marina Industry Association of Australia, the Boating Industry Association of South Australia, Australian Sailing, Yachting South Australia, Clubs SA, and Business SA to name just a few.

Reciprocal Clubs
Members of the Cruising Yacht Club of SA are entitled to reciprocal privilege at many clubs across Australia and internationally.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Office-Bearer-Flags.gif

Current Board Members and Flag Officers

Flag Officers
Commodore: Mr Nick Bice
Vice Commodore: Mr Mike Holmes
Rear Commodores: Mr Jeff Dinham and Ms Di Schwerdt

President: David Roper
Treasurer: Mark Hutton
Board Members: Mr Mark Johns, Mr Garth Heynen, Mr Troy Smith, Ms Doreen Perrin, Mrs Jacqueline Heffernan