

NOTICE OF RACE

2024-2025

South Australian IRC State Championship

The 2024-2025 South Australian IRC State Championship for IRC rated boats consists of a selection of inshore and offshore races from the CYCSA racing calendar.



Contact via the Racing Manager:

racing.manager@cycsa.com.au

Cruising Yacht Club of South Australia
Lady Gowrie Drive
PO Box 1020
North Haven SA 5018

(08) 8248 4222

Club Reception Hours: Monday-Saturday 09:00-17:00

[NP] denotes that a breach of this rule will not be grounds for protest by boat. This changes RRS 64.1(a) [DP] denotes a rule for which the penalty is at the discretion of the protest committee. This changes RRS 64.1

1. RULES & RACE COMMITTEES

- 1.1 The Racing Executive of the Cruising Yacht Club of South Australia (CYCSA) will conduct the 2024-2025 South Australian IRC State Championship for Division 1 and Division 2. Races and Series will be conducted under Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) 2021 2024; the Prescriptions and Special Regulations (SR) of Australian Sailing (AS); Rating and Class Rules as applicable; the Department of Transport Boating (Safety and Equipment) Regulations; and the International Regulations for the Prevention of Collision at Sea, 1972.
- 1.2 The IRC Rules Parts A, B and C shall apply.
- 1.3 Where there is conflict between the Notice of Race (NoR) and the Sailing Instructions (SIs), the SIs shall take precedence. This changes RRS 63.7.

2. ADVERTISING (DP)

For the purpose of advertising, the classification of all races, unless changed by additional sailing instructions, shall be in accordance with World Sailing Regulation 20.

3. ELIGIBILITY / ENTRY (DP)

- 3.1 The 2024-2025 South Australian IRC State Championship is open to all eligible keelboats in South Australia with a current and valid IRC Measurement Certificate. There shall be a Division 1 and Division 2 series. Boats will be allocated to an appropriate division at the absolute discretion of the Organising Authority. Boats that race in a Division may not change Division during the series except as directed by the Organising Authority.
- 3.2 To form a division there shall be a minimum of 5 boats or at the discretion of the Racing Executive.
- 3.3 Eligible boats may enter by completing the entry form via this link (ENTER HERE). Early bird entries will be accepted up until 7 November 2024. After this time, a full entry fee will apply.
 - Each entry must be accompanied by a Safety Equipment Compliance Declaration audited by a CYCSA authorized equipment auditor.
 - A copy of the insurance certificate of currency shall be lodged. Boat owners shall ensure that their boat carries appropriate third-party liability insurance to a minimum of \$10m per incident and include "Racing Coverage". Failure to do so will result in a boat being scored DNC until all required documents are lodged or uploaded to SailSys File Library.
- 3.4 The Racing Executive reserves the right to refuse or cancel an entry or require further documentation to support a boat's entry in accordance with RRS 76.
- 3.5 It is recommended that a crew member from each boat attends the CYCSA Season Briefing on Thursday 5 September 2024 at 1900.

4. CLASSIFICATION OF CREW

The World Sailing Sailor Classification Code shall not apply.

5. ENTRY FEES

- 5.1 Division 1: \$220, unless entered in a Club Inshore Series, then only \$32.
- 5.2 Division 2: \$220, unless entered in a Club Inshore Series, then only \$32.
- 5.3 Entries after 7 November fee will be \$250. (Inshore Series entrants \$37).

6. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

- 6.1 The Sailing Instructions shall be the CYCSA Sailing Instructions for the 2024-2025 season available on the club website www.cycsa.com.au, or from the Club Reception.
- 6.2 Positions of marks for offshore races are available on the club website www.cycsa.com.au, or from the Boating Operations Office.

7. SCHEDULE OF RACES

7.1 Division 1 Series

All times shown are for the warning signal for the first start.

Race 1	16 November 2024	Windward / Leeward	1255
Race 2	16 November 2024	Windward / Leeward	After Race 1
Race 3	17 November 2024	Fixed Mark	1155
Race 4	07 December 2024	Windward / Leeward	1255
Race 5	07 December 2024	Windward / Leeward	After Race 4
Race 6	08 December 2024	Triangle	1155
Race 7	08 December 2024	Windward / Leeward	After Race 6
Race 8	21 February 2025	Adelaide – Port Lincoln Race	1455
Race 9	29 March 2025	Fixed Mark	1255
Race 10	05 April 2025	Windward / Leeward	1255

7.2 Division 2 Series

All times shown are for the warning signal for the first start.

Race 1	16 November 2024	Windward / Leeward	1300
Race 2	16 November 2024	Windward / Leeward	After Race 1
Race 3	30 November 2024	Fixed Mark	1300
Race 4	07 December 2024	Windward / Leeward	1300
Race 5	07 December 2024	Windward / Leeward	After Race 4
Race 6	01 February 2025	Windward / Leeward	1300
Race 7	08 February 2025	Triangle	1300
Race 8	01 March 2025	Long Fixed Mark	1200
Race 9	29 March 2025	Fixed Mark	1300
Race 10	05 April 2025	Windward / Leeward	1300

7.3 Discards: 20% of the number of races that achieve a result.

Note: Discards are listed as a percentage of the number of races that achieve a result. The number of discards in a series is equal to the number of races that achieve a result multiplied by the percentage. Normal rounding rules apply, ie. 0.5 rounds up.

8. RACING AREA AND EVENT CATEGORY

- 8.1 Inshore races will be conducted within 5 nautical miles of the Adelaide coastline. All inshore races will be Category 6.
- 8.2 Offshore races may extend beyond the limits stated in section 8.1. All offshore races will be Category 3.

9. OFFSHORE COURSES

Adelaide to Port Lincoln Race: The race committee of the Port Lincoln Yacht Club (PLYC) will conduct and issue separate Notice of Race and Sailing Instructions for the Adelaide-to-Port Lincoln Yacht Race. 2024-2025 Division 1 South Australian IRC State Championship entrants competing in the Adelaide-to-Port Lincoln Race shall also be entrants in the PLYC Adelaide-to-Port Lincoln Yacht Race. Please note requirements of CYCSA NoR (2024-2025) 3 & 4 do apply.

10. PRIZES

- 10.1 A Perpetual Trophy (donated by **Deloitte**) will be awarded to the winner of the 2024-2025 **Division 1** South Australian IRC State Championship.
- 10.2 A Perpetual Trophy (donated by **William Strangways**) will be awarded to the winner of the 2024-2025 **Division 2** South Australian IRC State Championship.

11. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

- 11.1 Warning: Sailing and activities associated with it involve risks of personal injury, loss, damage and even death. The risks include, but are not limited to, the risk of injury from collision, capsizing, falling overboard, being trapped under a sail or boat after capsize and impact with equipment. The risks involved in this activity are increased by adverse weather conditions, inadequate training, fatigue, inexperience, failure to maintain the boat, failure to supply and use the recommended safety equipment and failure to observe the RRS, AS Prescriptions and the Sailing Instructions.
- 11.2 The Organising Authority relies upon the provisions and limitations of the South Australian Civil Liability Act 1936 and notifies all race participants who engage in recreational activity that they do so at their own risk. See Rule 3, Decision to Race, "The responsibility for a boat's decision to participate in a race or to continue racing is hers alone".
- 11.3 Having given this risk warning, the Organising Authority will not accept any liability for material damage, personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with, prior to, during, or after racing.